top of page

Crack the Code of Love: Are Love Languages Real?

Hey there, love language explorers! Today, I'm diving deep into the mystical realms of the heart, where the languages of love whisper sweet nothings and unveil the secrets to stronger, more meaningful connections. That's right, we're talking about the fabulous five: the Love Languages!

A couple hiding behind a red heart
Are love languages real? What are love languages?

Picture this: you're in a relationship, feeling the vibes, but sometimes, you're just not on the same wavelength. It's like you're speaking French while they're speaking Klingon. Fear not, fellow romantic voyagers, for the Love Languages are here to save the day!

So, what exactly are these magical love dialects, you ask? Well, let me break it down for you.

Love Language #1: Words of Affirmation

Ah, the power of words! If your love language is Words of Affirmation, you thrive on compliments, kind words, and sweet nothings whispered in your ear. "You're amazing," "I appreciate you," and "You rock my socks off" are like music to your soul.

For many of us avid romance readers, we swoon at a delicious book boyfriend that knows exactly what to say to make us turn into a puddle on the floor. Take Aaron Warner, for example from Shatter Me, who always seems to say the sweetest things to Juliet despite is morally grey attitude toward life. He's absolutely a Words of Affirmation kind of guy.

Love Language #2: Acts of Service

Actions speak louder than words, right? For you Acts of Service aficionados, it's all about those little (and big) gestures that say, "I've got your back." From doing the dishes to planning a surprise date night, actions truly show you care.

If i had to pick a guy for this one, it would be Hawke in From Blood and Ash. The guy is literally Poppy's personal guard, duty bound to serve her. But he also goes out o his way to do little things so that she knows he cares. (Hawke, I suspect, is also a Physical Touch guy too.)

Love Language #3: Receiving Gifts and Gift Giving

Who doesn't love a thoughtful present? If your love language is Receiving Gifts, it's not about the price tag but the sentiment behind the gift. Whether it's a bouquet of flowers, a handwritten note, or a shiny new gadget, it's the thought that counts.

A book boyfriend that always gave the right gifts was Prince Maxon in The Selection. He went out of his way to always give America the perfect present, and she absolutely loved receiving them.

Love Language #4: Quality Time

Time is precious, and for Quality Time enthusiasts, there's nothing better than undivided attention. Put away those phones, turn off Netflix, and bask in each other's presence. Whether it's a romantic dinner for two or a cozy night in, it's all about making memories together.

One of our best quality time heroes was Zayne in White Hot Kiss. He loved spending time with Layla, and you could tell that just hanging out with her filled his heart with love. No kissing, touching, or sexy needed!

Love Language # 5: Physical Touch

Ah, the language of love that needs no words. If Physical Touch is your jam, cuddles, hugs, and kisses are your love currency. From a gentle caress to an affectionate embrace, physical intimacy speaks volumes.

Enter Xaden from Fourth Wing. This man is all about touch in as many ways as he can get it. From grappling with Violet on the mat, to spicy sex complete with lightning strikes, this book boyfriend just wants that physical contact any way he can get it!

So What's Your Love Language?

Now, here's the real magic: understanding your own love language and that of your partner (or potential partner) can unlock a whole new level of connection. It's like having your own secret decoder ring for matters of the heart!

But wait, there's more! Sometimes, we speak different love languages, and that's okay! The key is learning to speak each other's language and finding that sweet spot where both hearts sync up in harmony.

So, how do you crack the code of love and discover your love language? It's simple, really. Pay attention to what makes your heart sing, what makes you feel appreciated, cherished, and loved. Take the quiz, do some soul-searching, and embrace the love language that speaks to you.

Remember, love is a journey, not a destination. It's about the little moments, the shared experiences, and the genuine connections we make along the way. So, go forth, dear love language explorers, and may your hearts be filled with love, laughter, and endless joy! Keep spreading those love vibes and speaking the language of the heart. Love is all around us; we just have to learn how to speak it fluently!

Now that you have some knowledge about love languages, which one do you swoon at the most?

In Revile, Liddy discovers that she is very drawn to Acts of Service and Physical Touch from the guy she's been tasked to assassinate. Of course, this puts her in a tight bind that she'll have to untangle before her time runs out. Check out and download this Dissenter Saga novel for free.

7 views0 comments


bottom of page